The Positivity Project Challenge #5 – Go Bling Yourself

Go bling yourself.

This was probably the second most popular of all of the challenges to date.  Because it’s fun.  Because it sounds fun.  Because it’s ridiculously easy.  And probably because ‘The Positivity Project” group is comprised of solely 20-40 year old females, though gender is not a requirement for being able to partake in this particular fun ‘challenge’.

But also – let’s own up to it – bringing a little more positivity into our days does not mean always having to strive for selflessness.

The concept was that we all have that one special piece of jewelry we keep tucked away for safekeeping but never wear.  Many of us have piles of junk or special occasion jewelry that we save for that perfect outfit on that perfect occasion, but forget about and never wear.  Over and above jewelry, we all have at least that one outfit, that dress, that suit, that vintage or inherited coat that we keep in plastic safeguarded in the back of our closet, or that pair of shoes that we admire but never have the right occasion to bring them on out for.

Well it’s wasting away and taking up space wherever it is you have it stored.  What enjoyment are you getting out of it all packed up?  What if that special occasion never arrives?  What if the worst happened and you never get to see or wear it again?  Gold and diamonds aren’t worth a thing if they’re sitting stored away, and junk jewelry loses its lustre, appeal and fashionability overnight.  Clothes go out of season, and do not age and change with our bodies over time.

So why not dig out that never worn junk jewelry, that suit, those killer stilettos or that flashy ring you’ve been scared to get dirty or lost and let them out for the day!  Bling yourselves out with all that fun stuff and let it get the appreciation it deserves.

It’s more than just having some fun with your rarely or never used items, it’s more than just playing dress-up for a day, it’s also a known fact that when we put a little extra in to our appearance or when we are wearing that one of a kind or unique or expensive piece we keep reserved for ‘later’ (potentially never) use, we feel better about ourselves, we feel happier, we feel more confident and our appearances and the minute changes in our aura reflect that, and we are treated differently accordingly.  Shape magazine (once a year guilty pleasure) also informs me that digging out that snazzy bold red lipstick you bought on a whim, that you have never had the courage to wear, and putting it on for the day can greatly improve your mood, your confidence, happiness, your levels of personal satisfaction, and can even improve the way others see and treat you.

And why should this have any impact on the treatment we receive from others?  Because they see us being more confident, happier, as being more adventurous; because when we feel better about ourselves we also treat others better; because (when it comes to red lipstick anyway) science and the laws of attraction say we look healthier, younger and more attractive.

So again, pull out that heirloom necklace you have insured locked tightly up in that lockbox – you’re not enjoying it, it might as well not even exist, you’re paying insurance for an item that you are at zero risk of losing thus negating the need for that insurance payment, and your great grandmother bought that sucker to wear it, not to hide it.  Pull out that suit you keep stored away for your bi-annual wear; just because your office allows you some flexibility in what you wear, doesn’t mean that you can’t dress up on occasion rather than down.  That dress you keep tucked away in the back of the closet because you’ve never had the right occasion to wear it or because you just don’t want to have to go through the hassle of dry-cleaning it, that perfect occasion may never arrive, you may not fit it when it does, and if you aren’t wearing it because the maintenance is too much for you, then you may as well not even own it.

And where are you going that you need to get all dressed up for anyhow?  Maybe to work.  Maybe to your next friend date.  Maybe you might make your own special occasion and go out in the middle of your own community for the day, treating yourself to a special lunch or coffee or drink, do a little (window)shopping or browsing through some of your higher end stores you never step into because your usual denim and tee get you sideways stares from the service staff.  Whatever and wherever.

Some of you might feel a little silly at first.  Some of you might feel overdressed for the occasion.  Some of you might worry about getting that ring scratched or scuffed up.  But I guarantee you, you’ll feel like a rock star all day.

Author: thebrokegirlsguidetobetterliving

Welcome! I am "thebrokegirl", aka Mandy. And what makes me a broke girl? Being a single income household, living the best life I can alongside my big grumpy dog obviously, but also because I'm not perfect - I'm broke - I'm a work in progress, which is exactly how I want to stay! My passion for writing, research, trying new things and wanting to help and inspire others are what inspired me to start this blog. So what makes me an expert on better living? Nothing! I'm just a girl trying. And what is better living? It's mindfulness, small changes, simple acts, baby steps to help make your day, your health, your environment, your life just that little much better. I'm on a lifelong journey to level up my life, and invite you to share that journey alongside me!

11 thoughts on “The Positivity Project Challenge #5 – Go Bling Yourself”

  1. I’m picturing everyone putting down their phone or closing their laptop, furiously sifting through drawers and wardrobes looking for their fave bling/ outfit 😂
    Cue everyone strutting around looking fab!
    You may have started a new wave here…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well why have things when we don’t enjoy them? We want things, we procure things, and then we hoard and neglect or forget about them. And it’s just plain fun to get dressed up sometimes… I’ve never been a trendsetter, but if I had to endorse one, this would be it 😉

      Like

  2. Ha, this is pretty cool and similar to what I do but…I can always go further. I’m notorious for wearing my new jewelry right away, no matter how over the top (I figure that I’d get at least one use out of it before it vanishes) but I do have some that I don’t wear at all. Might have to go bling myself 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Love it!! Strangely, the morning after I posted this I opened up a purse I hadn’t used in about a year and found sitting in the side pocket a pair of diamond earrings (get this) that I forgot I even owned! Could not have been more perfect timing 🙂 But I do think that we all could stand to have a bit more fun with the things we hoard, and losing or wrecking them is the risk we take for having things… which is always better than the alternative in my opinion. I’m going to have to do some digging and see what else pops up around my place now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, wow, what a find!! 😉 That’ always the way, we’re so busy trying to preserve nice things that we never use them. It’s wasteful. Better to get one use out of something than none at all. Good luck with finding more diamonds 😝

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, well I think that’s about the extent of my luck – they’re the only pair I own. Le sigh. How I forgot I owned them I’m not even sure. But I’ve been rotating through all of my junk jewelry boxes the past week now – I always buy whenever I see what I consider a fun piece on sale, and have boxes filled with items price tags still on… shameful!

        Like

    1. That’s fantastic! My boyfriend actually wears his to watch movies lol… he insists it adds a little something. Maybe there’s something there I’m not catching on to 😉 I hope you sing along to the Corey Hart song occasionally while you’re doing it!
      Thanks for reading and commenting!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment